Leave button puts members in control

Putting our members in full control of their wireless service is one of the key aspects of our all-digital wireless service experience. This ‘Build it!’ post discusses the fine details about the ‘leaving us for good’ feature. Discuss it below!

 

It’s decided! We are going to have a ‘LEAVE’ button

Apart from people that use their phones more moderately, but still deserve a good experience we want to acknowledge that some people have temporary needs by default. Whether it’s people splitting time between US and Canada, or visitors/tourists/students coming to the country for periods of 2 weeks to 6 months, or people activating a second line on their iPhone using the eSIM is our calling. It means we have to design not only an easy way for our members to start using the service but also an ability to stop using the wireless service when they choose to. Have to. Prefer to optimize, have to downsize or save.  

 


 

Leaving us for good

 

If our members decide that they no longer need a service from us or want to cancel for any reason. We are here to assist in a way that is helpful and clear. Every step of the way.

In the beginning, this can be done from our mobile application by choosing the ‘CLOSE MY ACCOUNT’ option. The leave option on the web will be available in the near future.

 


 

What happens after you leave?

Legally companies can hold data for prolonged periods of time (years) if they can demonstrate reasons as to why they need that information (law or tax-related, mostly legal, accounting, dispute resolution and other reasons). In our earlier discussions with members about privacy and we think that it is fair to communicate our design principles.  

The proposed privacy design [in the table below] shows the parameters that need to be considering when automating the leave function.  Our commitments for members are guided by Canadian Privacy Principles.  

 

On the day you leave
Wireless service 
(if subscribed)
Stops
Billing for service
(if subscribed)

Stops

Access to location
(if previously allowed)

Stops
Location information
(if available/identifiable)
Deleted
Payment authorization

Maintained

Voice messages
Maintained
Wireless usage records Maintained

Account information

Maintained

Number wireless or fixed
(if not ported out)

Quarantined

Order information

Maintained

Payment records Maintained
Statements Maintained
Tickets
(including refunds* if any)
Maintained

 

90 days later
Payment authorization Deleted
Voice messages Deleted
Wireless usage records Deleted
Account information Minimized
Number wireless or fixed
(if not ported out) 
Disassociated 
Order information

Maintained

Payment records Maintained
Statements Maintained
Tickets 
(including refunds* if any)
Maintained

 

2 years later

Account information Deleted
Number wireless or fixed
(if not ported out)
Recycled
Order information Maintained
Payment records Maintained
Statements Maintained
Tickets 
(including refunds* if any)
Maintained

 

*Note on refunds: dotmobile policy is to refund the paid unused data to the authorized payment method or give an option to donate the data. No refund is provided for the unlimited wireless subscription past the return period, only unused data. Look out for Build It! post on this subject later.

 

Comments
ANONYMOUS MEMBER
16:22 04/26

Very transparent! Love it!

Recent Discussions:
Putting our members in full control of their wireless service is one of the key aspects of our all-digital wireless service experience. This ‘Build it!’ post discusses the fine details about the ‘leaving us for good’ feature. Discuss it below!
Read about our version release icon design and vote on the Beta icon concept!
With everything else in the app, we are going all digital with Support too! Discussed in this Build It! post, are our in-app Support design architecture and its salient features. Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!